Loading Events

« All Events

Aimee Lucido w/Kwame Alexander / Launch for Emmy in the Key of Code

September 24 @ 7:00 pm - 9:00 pm

The Bindery hosts the launch for Aimee Lucido‘s debut,Emmy in the Key of Code. With her in conversation isKwame Alexander (The Crossover). Please join us!

In this innovative middle grade novel, coding and music take center stage as new girl Emmy tries to find her place in a new school. Perfect for fans of Girls Who Code series and The Crossover.

In a new city, at a new school, twelve-year-old Emmy has never felt more out of tune. Things start to look up when she takes her first coding class, unexpectedly connecting with the material—and Abigail, a new friend—through a shared language: music. But when Emmy gets bad news about their computer teacher, and finds out Abigail isn’t being entirely honest about their friendship, she feels like her new life is screeching to a halt. Despite these obstacles, Emmy is determined to prove one thing: that, for the first time ever, she isn’t a wrong note, but a musician in the world’s most beautiful symphony.


Aimee Lucido is a software engineer who has worked at Uber, Facebook, and Google. Women in technology is a subject close to her heart, and she brings this passion to the page. In her spare time, she runs, bakes, does musical improv, and writes crossword puzzles. She lives in San Francisco, CA.

 

Kwame Alexander is a poet, educator, and the New York Times Bestselling author of 28 books, including Rebound, the follow-up to his Newbery Medal-winning middle grade novel, The Crossover. Some of his other works include Booked, which was longlisted for the National Book Award, The Playbook52 Rules to Help You Aim, Shoot, and Score in this Game of Life, Swing, and the picture books, Out of Wonder and The Undefeated. A regular contributor to NPR’s Morning Edition, Kwame is the recipient of numerous awards, including The Coretta Scott King Author Honor, The NCTE/Charlotte Huck Honor, Three NAACP Image Award Nominations, and the 2017 Inaugural Pat Conroy Legacy Award. He believes that poetry can change the world, and he uses it to inspire and empower young people around the world through The Write Thing, his K-12 Writing Workshop. Kwame is the founder of Versify, an imprint of Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, and the host and producer of the literary variety/talk show, Bookish, which airs on Facebook Watch. He’s led cultural exchange delegations to Brazil, Italy, Singapore, and Ghana, where he built the Barbara E. Alexander Memorial Library and Health Clinic, as a part of LEAP for Ghana, an international literacy program he co-founded. Author photo by Portia Wiggins Photography.


Please note: this event will be held at The Bindery, 1727 Haight.

The Bindery bar opens at 7pm. Event starts at 7:30pm.

RSVP appreciated but not required.

As with all of our events, seating may be limited; you can guarantee a seat by pre-purchasing the book below — when checking out, just be sure to include a note that you’d like to attend the event. If you cannot attend the event but would like to request a signed copy of Emmy in the Key of Code, order below and put your request in the comments field. To request signed copies of Kwame’s books, do the same thing here.

Details

Date:
September 24
Time:
7:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Event Categories:
,
Website:
https://www.booksmith.com/event/bindery-aimee-lucido-wkwame-alexander-launch-emmy-key-code

Organizer

The Bindery
Website:
https://www.facebook.com/TheBinderySF/

Venue

The Bindery
1727 Haight St
San Francisco , 94117 United States
+ Google Map
Phone:
415-863-8688
Website:
http://www.booksmith.com