Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

T.J. Mitchell & Judy Melinek: First Cut

January 14 @ 7:30 pm - 9:00 pm PST

Free

Judy Melinek and T.J. Mitchell discuss their new novel, First Cut.

Praise for First Cut

“Scalpel sharp. First Cut allows a peek into the autopsy room through the eyes of a pro.”—Kathy Reichs

“Who better to deliver a genuinely compelling mystery than real-life medical examiners? Fans of CSI and Forensic Files will devour this well plotted story.”—Karin Slaughter

“All the charm, gruesome detail and surprising empathy that made Working Stiff such a delight brought back in a novel. An impressive opener to a series that deserves to run and run.”—Alex Marwood, author of The Wicked Girls and The Killer Next Door

About First Cut

A hard-nosed medical examiner. A suspicious case. An underworld plot only she saw coming.

San Francisco’s newest medical examiner, Dr. Jessie Teska, has made a chilling discovery. A suspected overdose case contains hints of something more sinister: a drug lord’s attempt at a murderous cover-up. But as Jessie digs deeper, she faces unexpected pushback from her superiors–and pressure to stay in her lane, close the case and move on.

For Jessie, San Francisco was supposed to be a fresh start, a chance to escape her troublesome past in Los Angeles. Instead she finds herself overworked and underpaid, working in a dingy morgue and living under the fog in a cramped converted cable car. Now, despite warnings from her colleagues and threats from her boss, she is determined to find the truth.

As more bodies land on her autopsy table, Jessie uncovers a constellation of deaths that point to a plot involving opioid traffickers and San Francisco’s shifting terrain of tech start-ups. Autopsy means “see for yourself,” and Jessie Teska won’t stop until she has seen it all–even if it means the next corpse on the slab could be her own.

Details

Date:
January 14
Time:
7:30 pm - 9:00 pm PST
Cost:
Free
Event Categories:
,
Website:
https://www.greenapplebooks.com/event/9th-ave-tj-mitchell-judy-melinek

Venue

Green Apple Books on the Park
1231 9th Ave
San Francisco , CA 94122 United States
+ Google Map
Phone:
415-742-5833
Website:
http://www.greenapplebooks.com