Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Virtual Event: Jamie Figueroa and Marie-Helene Bertino

March 4 @ 6:00 pm - 8:00 pm PST

JOIN US ON THURSDAY, MARCH 4 AT 6PM PT WHEN JAMIE FIGUEROA IS JOINED BY MARIE-HELENE BERTINO TO DISCUSS HER DEBUT NOVEL, BROTHER, SISTER, MOTHER, EXPLORER, ON ZOOM!

Zoom Login Info
Please click the link below to join the webinar:
https://us02web.zoom.us/j/81822157575
Or iPhone one-tap :
US: +16699009128,,81822157575#  or +13462487799,,81822157575#
International numbers available: https://us02web.zoom.us/u/keqMEp28ep

Praise for Brother, Sister, Mother, Explorer

Brother, Sister, Mother, Explorer is so full of voice. It is utterly bright and original.”—Tommy Orange, author of There There

Brother, Sister, Mother, Explorer is a haunting of a novel centered around the hustle of an utterly unforgettable brother and sister. Jamie Figueroa’s faultless language surprises, enchants, and does nothing less than articulate that which is unseen and eaten by profound grief. Supervised by a wild, booted angel (a character for the ages), this marvel of a first novel seems powered by a force that wrecks itself and is made glorious, again and again, until its stunning conclusion. Singular, devastating, and divine.”—Marie-Helene Bertino, author of Parakeet

“In language that is blade-sharp and sun-bright, Jamie Figueroa weaves a story of generations of love and loss that is powerful and aching and utterly new. Brother, Sister, Mother, Explorer will never, ever leave me.”—Ramona Ausubel, author of Sons and Daughters of Ease and Plenty and No One Is Here Except All of Us

“Jamie Figueroa’s writing is decadent. Sentences in this book require the reader to breathe and sigh with the revelation of their beauty; others slap you in the face with their sharp assumptiveness. Brother, Sister, Mother, Explorer begins in prayer and does what prayer does—gives us hope, reveals our deepest griefs, and sometimes even redeems.”—Tiphanie Yanique, author of Land of Love and Drowning

About Brother, Sister, Mother, Explorer 

A fableistic, “curious and dazzling” debut novel of enormous power and grace about a sister trying to hold back her brother from the edge of the abyss for readers of Jesmyn Ward and Tommy Orange (Booklist, starred review).

Details

Date:
March 4
Time:
6:00 pm - 8:00 pm PST
Event Categories:
,
View Event Website

Organizer

Green Apple Books
Phone:
415-387-2272
View Organizer Website