Loading Events

Upcoming Events › South Bay

Events Search and Views Navigation

Event Views Navigation

January 2020

Abigail Hing Wen with Sabaa Tahir

January 6, 2020 @ 7:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Kepler’s Books, 1010 El Camino Real
Menlo Park , CA 94025 United States
+ Google Map
Free

Join us to celebrate the launch of Abigail Hing Wen’s highly anticipated, romantic, and layered debut, Loveboat, Taipei, praised as “an intense rush of rebellion and romance” by Stephanie Garber (NYT bestselling author of the Caraval series).  This dazzling, fun-filled romantic comedy of our dreams is “Fresh as a first kiss” (Stacey Lee, author of The Downstairs Girl), “a story about finding your place—and your people—where you least expected." (Kelly Loy Gilbert, author of Picture Us in the Light) Think…

Find out more »

Tara Sim with Kat Cho

January 7, 2020 @ 7:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Kepler’s Books, 1010 El Camino Real
Menlo Park , CA 94025 United States
+ Google Map
Free

We're thrilled to invite you to celebrate the launch of Scavenge the Stars, Tara Sim’s gender-swapped retelling of The Count of Monte Cristo that is packed with high-stakes adventure, romance, and dueling identities, "A rags-to-riches story with the promise of revenge... Captivating."―Kirkus Reviews When Amaya rescues a mysterious stranger from drowning, she fears her rash actions have earned her a longer sentence on the debtor ship where she's been held captive for years. Instead, the man she saved offers her…

Find out more »

Andrew Rader

January 9, 2020 @ 7:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Kepler’s Books, 1010 El Camino Real
Menlo Park , CA 94025 United States
+ Google Map
$7 – $33

Join Kepler’s Literary Foundation and a person at the forefront of space exploration as we spotlight our insatiable desire— throughout history and now— to push into new and unchartered territory. The man taking us there with his infectious curiosity, engaging presentation style, and brilliant mind is Andrew Rader— an MIT-credentialied scientist, host of the popular podcast Spellbound, SpaceX mission manager, and author of Beyond the Known: How Exploration Created the Modern World and Will Take Us to the Stars. We’ve…

Find out more »

Kiersten White, Chosen

January 10, 2020 @ 7:00 pm - 8:30 pm
Bookshop Santa Cruz, 1520 Pacific Ave
Santa Cruz , CA 95060 United States
+ Google Map
Free

Bookshop Santa Cruz welcomes bestselling author Kiersten White who will share her new book, Chosen. Nina continues to learn how to use her slayer powers against enemies old and new in this second novel in the New York Times bestselling series set in the world of Buffy the Vampire Slayer. Now that Nina has turned the Watcher's Castle into a utopia for hurt and lonely demons, she's still waiting for the utopia part to kick in. With her sister Artemis gone and only a few people…

Find out more »

Kiersten White with Katy Rose Pool

January 11, 2020 @ 3:00 pm - 4:00 pm
Kepler’s Books, 1010 El Camino Real
Menlo Park , CA 94025 United States
+ Google Map
Free

Into every generation a slayer is born… and being the Chosen one isn’t always easy Do you miss having Buffy the Vampire Slayer in your life? We have the solution. We’re thrilled to be celebrating Chosen, New York Times bestselling author Kiersten White’s fabulous second novel set in the world of Buffy the Vampire Slayer in which Nina continues to learn how to use her slayer powers against enemies old and new. Now that Nina has turned the Watcher’s Castle…

Find out more »

Steve Inskeep with Angie Coiro

January 14, 2020 @ 7:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Kepler’s Books, 1010 El Camino Real
Menlo Park , CA 94025 United States
+ Google Map
$15 – $45

Michelle and Barack Obama. Ben Bradlee and Sally Quinn. John and Jackie Kennedy. Every era has its power couples— teams of two wielding boundless social, political, and cultural influence. In Imperfect Union, NPR's Steve Inskeep (Morning Edition, Up First, All Things Considered) has unearthed the life stories of one of America's earliest power couples: John and Jessie Frémont. Theirs is the tale of an unexpected coupling that changed the shape of the nation: the refined daughter of a US senator…

Find out more »

Miranda Popkey, Topics of Conversation

January 16, 2020 @ 7:00 pm - 8:30 pm
Bookshop Santa Cruz, 1520 Pacific Ave
Santa Cruz , CA 95060 United States
+ Google Map
Free

Bookshop welcomes Santa Cruz native Miranda Popkey for a reading and signing of her searing new novel, Topics of Conversation. For readers of Rachel Cusk, Lydia Davis, and Jenny Offill—a compact tour de force about sex, violence, and self-loathing from a ferociously talented new voice in fiction. Topics of Conversation follows an unnamed female narrator from her first summer post-college to her years as a single mother in California’s Central Valley, always hungry for experience and hell bent on upending her life.…

Find out more »

This is Now: Kelly McGonigal

January 16, 2020 @ 7:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Kepler’s Books, 1010 El Camino Real
Menlo Park , CA 94025 United States
+ Google Map
$15 – $45

What if the key to feeling vividly alive and energetic in your body is closer than you think? No matter what your past experience with exercise has been— from finding it a chore to falling in love with a favorite activity— it is possible to find happiness and meaning through movement. Acclaimed Stanford research psychologist Kelly McGonigal, who once offered readers a transformative new approach to stress, now looks beyond the gym and around the world to find the secrets…

Find out more »

Viet Thanh Nguyen, Thi Bui, and Their Sons, Ellison and Hien

January 18, 2020 @ 2:00 pm - 4:00 pm
Kepler’s Books, 1010 El Camino Real
Menlo Park , CA 94025 United States
+ Google Map
$5 – $24

Do your children doodle and write stories? Join us in a celebration of artistic family collaboration, and a tale of chickens and pirates with Pulitzer Prize winner Viet Thanh Nguyen (The Sympathizer) and Caldecott Prize winner Thi Bui (The Best We Could Do, A Different Pond) and their sons, Ellison and Hien. Chicken of the Sea is an adorable picture book in which a band of intrepid chickens leave behind the boredom of farm life, joining the crew of the…

Find out more »

Daniel Levitin, Successful Aging

January 20, 2020 @ 7:00 pm - 8:30 pm
Bookshop Santa Cruz, 1520 Pacific Ave
Santa Cruz , CA 95060 United States
+ Google Map
Free

Neuroscientist and bestselling author Daniel Levitin (This Is Your Brain on Music) will join us to discuss his important new book, Successful Aging. Author of the iconic bestsellers This Is Your Brain on Music and The Organized Mind, Daniel Levitin turns his keen insights to what happens in our brains as we age, why we should think about health span, not life span, and, based on a rigorous analysis of neuroscientific evidence, what you can do to make the most of your seventies, eighties,…

Find out more »

Roz Chast & Patricia Marx on Love

January 23, 2020 @ 7:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Kepler’s Books, 1010 El Camino Real
Menlo Park , CA 94025 United States
+ Google Map
$15 – $35

After last April's sold-out show, Roz Chast and Patricia Marx return to Kepler's for You Can Only Yell at Me for One Thing at a Time: Rules for Couples. Much beloved, utterly genius contributors to The New Yorker for decades, the inimitable cartoonist Roz Chast and wry humorist Patricia Marx have joined forces again! This time, to solve every love and relationship problem that has ever existed. You're welcome! Everyone’s heard the old, standard advice for a healthy relationship... we…

Find out more »

Peggy Orenstein, Boys & Sex

January 28, 2020 @ 7:00 pm - 8:30 pm
Bookshop Santa Cruz, 1520 Pacific Ave
Santa Cruz , CA 95060 United States
+ Google Map
Free

This is an advanced event listing. Please check back for updated information, or sign up for our events emails. This free event will take place at Bookshop Santa Cruz. Chairs for open seating are usually set up about an hour before the event begins. If you have any ADA accommodation requests, please email info@bookshopsantacruz.com by January 26th. The author of the groundbreaking New York Times bestsellers Girls & Sex and Cinderella Ate My Daughter now turns her focus to the sexual lives of young men, once again offering "both…

Find out more »

Orin & Manjula Martin, Fruit Trees for Every Garden

January 30, 2020 @ 7:00 pm - 8:30 pm
Bookshop Santa Cruz, 1520 Pacific Ave
Santa Cruz , CA 95060 United States
+ Google Map
Free

Just in time for pruning season! Bookshop Santa Cruz welcomes Orin Martin, long-time manager of the renowned Alan Chadwick Garden at UC Santa Cruz, and writer/editor Manjula Martin, Orin's daughter, for a discussion and signing of Fruit Trees for Every Garden—their substantial, authoritative, and beautiful full-color guide which covers everything you need to know about organically growing healthy, bountiful fruit trees. For more than forty years, Orin Martin has taught thousands of apprentices, students, and home gardeners the art and craft of…

Find out more »
+ Export Events