Loading Events
Find Events

Event Views Navigation

Upcoming Events

Events List Navigation

November 2017

BAPC First Saturday Reading

November 4 @ 3:00 pm - 5:00 pm
Strawberry Creek Lodge, 1320 Addison Street
Berkeley, CA 94702 United States
+ Google Map

Come and enjoy a friendly and informal read-around.

Find out more »

Launch Party w/ Teri Emory

November 4 @ 4:00 pm - 6:00 pm
Books Inc. Opera Plaza, 601 Van Ness
San Francisco , CA 94107 United States
+ Google Map

Join essayist, editor, and author Teri Emory for a Launch Party celebration of her much-buzzed debut novel, Second Acts.

Find out more »

Poetry as Sanctuary w/ Rebecca Foust + Javier Zamora

November 4 @ 7:00 pm - 9:00 pm
O’Hanlon Center for the Arts, 616 Throckmorton Avenue
Mill Valley, CA 94941 United States
+ Google Map
$5

Marin Poet Laureate Rebecca Foust and fellow poet Javier Zamora are offering an evening of their poetry reading poems that touch on the theme of Sanctuary.

Find out more »

POETS! – featured readers to be announced followed by an open mic

November 6 @ 7:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Find out more »

Quiet Lightning at Peacock Lounge

November 6 @ 7:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Peacock Lounge, 552 Haight St.
San Francisco, CA 94117 United States
+ Google Map
$5

Read/perform with Quiet Lightning! SUBMISSIONS OPEN through the end of WEDNESDAY, October 18th! https://quietlightning.submittable.com/submit/91914/quiet-lightning-peacock-lounge All forms of writing are accepted. This show, to be held @ Peacock Lounge, will be a free show, and the first 100 people will receive a book featuring all of the selected writing and cover art by a local artist. All authors will be paid and will read/perform as a literary mixtape, with no introductions or banter. Curators TBA soon! *** GUIDELINES: Send us any…

Find out more »

Barbara Jane Reyes

November 7 @ 7:00 pm - 9:00 pm
City Lights Bookstore, 261 Columbus Ave
San Francisco , CA 94133 United States
+ Google Map

Feminist experimental poetry in the tradition of Audre Lorde and Theresa Kyung Cha from a prominent Filipina American poet.

Find out more »

Carl C. Anthony

November 7 @ 7:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Green Apple Books on the Park, 1231 9th Ave
San Francisco , CA 94122 United States
+ Google Map
Free

Carl C. Anthony discusses his new book The Earth, the City, and the Hidden Narrative of Race. Praise for The Earth, the City and the Hidden Narrative of Race The destruction of the earth’s environment is the human rights challenge of our time... Among its many treasures, this book offers solutions that lead with equity for the benefit of all.—Desmond Mpilo Tutu, Anglican Archbishop Emeritus, social activist, Capetown, South Africa Carl Anthony has been ahead of the curve for decades, and as…

Find out more »

Tom Gauld with Mallory Ortberg

November 7 @ 7:30 pm - 9:00 pm
The Booksmith, 1644 Haight St
San Francisco , CA 94117 United States
+ Google Map
Free

Booksmith is pleased to welcome acclaimed Guardian cartoonist Tom Gauld as he presents a best-of collection of literary humour cartoons — Baking with Kafka. With Tom will be Mallory Ortberg—join us!   In his inimitable style, British cartoonist Tom Gauld has opened comics to a crossover audience and challenged perceptions of what the medium can be. Noted as a “book-lover’s cartoonist,” Gauld’s weekly strips in The Guardian, Britain’s most well-regarded newspaper, stitch together the worlds of literary criticism and pop culture to create brilliantly executed, concise…

Find out more »

Farid Matuk

November 8 @ 6:30 pm - 8:30 pm
Maude Fife Room, UC Berkeley, 2000 Carleston Street
Berkeley, CA 94720 United States
+ Google Map

Free reading!

Find out more »

William Finnegan

November 8 @ 7:00 pm - 8:30 pm
Cafe Stritch, 374 S. First Street
San Jose, CA 95113 United States
+ Google Map
Free

William Finnegan is the winner of the Pulitzer Prize for Autobiography for Barbarian Days: A Surfing Life, also chosen as a Best Book of 2015 by Publishers Weekly. In addition, he is the author of Cold New World, A Complicated War, Dateline Soweto, and Crossing the Line. He has twice been a National Magazine Award finalist and has won numerous journalism awards, including two Overseas Press Club awards since 2009. A staff writer at The New Yorker since 1987, he lives in Manhattan. November 8, 7pm — Reading & Conversation with Steve Kettmann, Café…

Find out more »

Poets Maxine Chernoff and Gillian Conoley

November 8 @ 7:00 pm - 8:30 pm
Moe’s Books, 2476 Telegraph Ave
Berkeley, CA 94704 United States
+ Google Map
Free

Camera is Maxine Chernoff's 16th book of poems. Her previous book, Here, was a finalist for the Northern California Book Award, as were 2 of her 6 works of fiction. Her book of stories Signs of Devotion was a NYT Notable Book of 1993. In 2013 she won an NEA Fellowship in Poetry and in 2009 the PEN USA Translation Award for a co-translation of the Selected Poems of Friedrich Hoelderlin. She is former editor of New American Writing and professor and former chair of the Dept of Creative…

Find out more »

Pat Thomas

November 8 @ 7:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Green Apple Books on the Park, 1231 9th Ave
San Francisco , CA 94122 United States
+ Google Map
Free

Pat Thomas discusses his new biography, Did It! From Yippie to Yuppie: Jerry Rubin, An American Revolutionary. About Did It! Did It! From Yippie to Yuppie: Jerry Rubin, an American Revolutionary is an oversized oral & visual history of the infamous and ubiquitous Rubin – the first ever biography of the co-founder of the Yippies, Anti-Vietnam War radical, Chicago 8 defendant, New Age/Self Help proponent, and social-networking pioneer.   After a surfeit of books about Abbie Hoffman, here’s the first ever biography…

Find out more »

Booksmith presents John Hodgman / Vacationland

November 8 @ 7:30 pm - 9:30 pm
Public Works, 161 Erie Street
San Francisco , CA 94103 United States
+ Google Map
$20 - $35

Booksmith can't wait to host writer, comedian and actor John Hodgman for his new book Vacationland!   This event will be at Public Works, 161 Erie St., San Francisco. Tickets on sale now:   >> $20 general admission >> $35 admission + 1 book >> $45 2 seats + 1 book     Although his career as a bestselling author and on The Daily Show With Jon Stewart was founded on fake news and invented facts, in 2016 that routine didn't seem as funny…

Find out more »

Voz Sin Tinta: Our monthly bilingual poetry series and open mic.

November 9 @ 6:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Find out more »

Welcome to Night Vale creators Joseph Fink and Jeffrey Cranor present It Devours!

November 9 @ 7:00 pm - 9:00 pm
The Booksmith, 1644 Haight St
San Francisco , CA 94117 United States
+ Google Map
$30

Booksmith is very excited to welcome Welcome to Night Valecreators Joseph Fink and Jeffrey Cranor back to the store to celebrate their new novel, It Devours!—join us!   PLEASE NOTE: this is a ticketed event, with each ticket including one copy of It Devours! One ticket per person—no exceptions. Tickets must be purchased in advance—each ticket costs the price of 1 book + tax. Last-minute tickets may be available at the door; if so we will announce closer to the event.   It all started in June 2012 as a bestselling…

Find out more »

Jeffrey Eugenides

November 9 @ 7:30 pm - 9:30 pm
Nourse Theatre, 275 Hayes Street
San Francisco, CA 94117 United States
+ Google Map
$29

In conversation w/ Steven Winn.

Find out more »

Jason Shiga

November 9 @ 7:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Green Apple Books on the Park, 1231 9th Ave
San Francisco , CA 94122 United States
+ Google Map
Free

Jason Shiga discusses the conclusion to his graphic novel series, Demon, Volume 4. Praise for Demon "I respect Jason so much for following his audacious, wild, insane muse. Demon is raw, explosive fun.” ―Chester Brown, author of Paying For It "Crazy + Genius = Shiga!" ―Scott McCloud, author of The Sculptor " set out to make a dynamic comic, one that would both encourage and facilitate readers to turn the page again and again...The result is something goofy, funny, harrowing, and exciting in a…

Find out more »

Memorial for Joe Pachinko

November 10 @ 7:00 pm - 9:00 pm
The Beat Museum, 540 Broadway
San Francisco , CA 94133 United States
+ Google Map

Beloved poet Joe Pachinko has left the building. Join us for a celebration of his life and work.

Find out more »

David Rocklin: The Night Language

November 10 @ 7:30 pm - 9:00 pm
The Bindery, 1727 Haight St
San Francisco , 94117 United States
+ Google Map

The Bindery is happy to welcome David Rocklin for The Night Language. Please join us!

Find out more »

Lucha Libro: The Bay Area’s First Literary Wrestling Competition

November 11 @ 3:30 pm - 5:00 pm
The Park Gym, 1960 Harrison St
San Francisco, CA 94103 United States
+ Google Map
$10

RADAR Productions presents Lucha Libro, the Bay Area’s first-ever literary wrestling competition!

Find out more »

R-Dub Shakes, a Celebration of Shakespeare

November 11 @ 6:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Rolling Out Cafe, 1722 Taraval St
San Francisco, CA 94116 United States
+ Google Map
Free

With a hey and a ho and a hey nonny YES, we are OPEN FOR SUBMISSIONS for R-Dub Shakes, a Celebration of Shakespeare, on Saturday, November 11, 6 pm, at Rolling Out Cafe, 1722 Taraval, San Francisco. Guidelines: This Shakespearian love fest will feature performances of Shakespearian monologues, short scenes, and sonnets, readings of original Shakespeare-influenced writing, and songs from Shakespeare’s plays, or from the period. If you wish to perform a monologue, short scene, or sonnet, please write the curator, Jon…

Find out more »

Writers With Drinks November

November 11 @ 7:30 pm - 9:30 pm
Make-Out Room, 3225 22nd St
San Francisco, CA 94110 United States
+ Google Map
$5 - $20

All proceeds benefit the Center for Sex and Culture.

Find out more »

Writers With Drinks

November 11 @ 7:30 pm - 9:30 pm
Make-Out Room, 3225 22nd St
San Francisco, CA 94110 United States
+ Google Map
$5 - $20

Ben Loory (Tales of Falling and Flying) Stephen Elliott (The Adderall Diaries) Annalee Newitz (Autonomous) Maggie Shen King (An Excess Male) Dr. Jen Gunter (Wielding the Lasso of Truth) Marvin K. White (Our Name Be Witness, last rights, nothin' ugly fly) Cost: $5 to $20, no-one turned away All proceeds benefit the Center for Sex and Culture. At The Make Out Room 3225 22nd St., San Francisco CA, from 7:30 PM to 9:30 PM, doors open at 6:30 PM.  

Find out more »

Stephen Elliott

November 12 @ 7:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Green Apple Books on the Park, 1231 9th Ave
San Francisco , CA 94122 United States
+ Google Map
Free

Stephen Elliott discusses his new essay collection, Sometimes I Think About It. Praise for Stephen Elliott “I love these essays so hard I want to chew on them. For the bite of it. Stephen Elliott has the uncanny ability to go out into the culture and locate a self set loose from consumer culture and money identity. When it comes to outsider bodies and lives and stories, Stephen Elliott is there to remind us that the edges are where our cultural…

Find out more »

Perfectly Queer: Non-Fiction November

November 13 @ 7:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Dog Eared Books Castro, 489 Castro Street
San Francisco , CA 94114 United States
+ Google Map

Nonfiction readings!

Find out more »
+ Export Events