Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Virtual Event: Rebecca Fishow and Emily Schultz

January 22 @ 6:00 pm - 7:00 pm PST

Free
Join us on Friday, January 22 at 6pm PT when Rebecca Fishow discusses her latest collection, The Trouble with Language, with Emily Schultz on Zoom!
Zoom Login Info
Please click the link below to join the webinar:
https://us02web.zoom.us/j/89879534846
Praise for The Trouble with Language
“These stories burst with demented charm. Fans of Etgar Keret and Amelia Gray will relish Rebecca Fishow’s exciting debut.” -Catherine Lacey, author of Pew: A Novel and Nobody is Ever Missing
“A haunting, compelling, beautifully written trip through an America just below the surface of this one. Fishow is so alert to the world, through her language, that it makes the reader more alert to the world too. A wonderful debut that announces the arrival of a new, deeply poetic, voice to our literature.” -George Saunders, author of Lincoln in the Bardo and Tenth of December
“I could read any one of these stories any number of times, and their joy, darkness and intelligence would remain fresh, mysterious and bracing. Fishow is an extraordinary talent.” -Rivka Galchen, author of Little Labors and Atmospheric Disturbances
About The Trouble with Language
Winner of the Holland Prize for Fiction.
Weaving together fabulist invention and gritty realism, Rebecca Fishow’s debut collection, THE TROUBLE WITH LANGUAGE, unearths stories of men and women whose traumatic experiences make way for dazzlingly cerebral lives. A young man finds a severed head at his door years after his mother takes her own life. A married couple initiates a bloody jailbreak. A young woman poses nude for strangers in attempts to pay for mental health treatment, while another finds herself rapidly shrinking in a hotel room. No two of these surprising and playful fictions are alike, and each encourages us to peek behind life’s curtains to discover more bizarre, enchanting, and joyful truths. Wondrously assured, THE TROUBLE WITH LANGUAGE heralds the arrival of a major talent.

Details

Date:
January 22
Time:
6:00 pm - 7:00 pm PST
Cost:
Free
Event Category:
https://www.greenapplebooks.com/event/virtual-event-rebecca-fishow-and-emily-schultz

Organizer

Green Apple Books on the Park
Phone:
415-742-5833
View Organizer Website

Venue

online