[youtube_video width=399 height=233]Barbary 2011[/youtube_video]

[ Wed Oct 12 11 ]

Litquake presented Ishmael Reed with its 5th annual Barbary Coast Award in honor of his long-standing contributions to the Bay Area literary scene. Hosted by W. Kamau Bell and with musical accompaniment by Broun Fellinis, friends and performers paid tribute to Reed in the following order:

  1. Intro to the Barbary Coast Award by Jack Boulware
  2. Broun Fellinis
  3. Clark Blaise
  4. Tennessee Reed
  5. Claire Ortalda
  6. Ianthe Brautigan Swensen
  7. Boadiba
  8. Yuri Kageyama
  9. Alejandro Murguía
  10. Act II, Scene 6 of Reed’s play “Body Parts” with Seth Corr, Sherry Davis, and Boadiba
  11. Lorna Dee Cervantes
  12. Genny Lim
  13. Al Young

Above is the entire program. Click “Play” to watch all, “Next” to skip forward, or the small “Insert” screen (to the right of the video time) to see author thumbnails and watch them directly.